KCPS Celebrates National Principals Day


Kansas City, May 1, 2020: Today is National Principals Day. We want to express our gratitude to all of our principals in Kansas City Public Schools who work incredibly hard every single day on behalf of our students, families, staff, and communities.

Our principals are the bridge between the teaching and learning that happens in classrooms and the work done in the central office. They interact every day with our students, families, staff, and community. They inspire and guide students and staff. They lead the way as professionals. No one has a better grasp of what needs to happen in order for our scholars to grow and thrive. We depend on our principals as we shape our policies and programs.

Our principals are simply the best. As we face challenges on our path to success, we know that we can depend on them to keep striving at our side. They are servant-leaders who fill us with hope.

We thank each of our principals for choosing KCPS and taking on our mission of ensuring that every single child in this community gets the high-quality public education they deserve.

2019-2020 Kansas City Public Schools Principals

  • Dana-Mae Abram – Martin Luther King, Jr. Elementary School
  • Rejeanne Alomenu – Primitivo Garcia Elementary School
  • Mary Bachkora – Lincoln College Preparatory Academy Middle School
  • Kalinda Bass-Barlow – Harold Holliday, Sr. Montessori School
  • Jessica Bassett – Southeast High School
  • Adriane Blankinship-Johnson – J.A. Rogers Elementary School
  • Takeisha Brown – Wendell Phillips Elementary School
  • Rashawn Caruthers – Manual Career and Technical Center
  • Dana Carver – Gladstone Elementary School
  • Simone Chambers – Central Middle School
  • Jimmie Collier-Bullard – Longfellow Elementary School
  • Michael Coulter – George Washington Carver Dual Language School
  • Bridget Crutchfield – Woodland Early Learning Community School
  • Micah Enders – Phillis Wheatley Elementary School
  • Waymond Ervin – Northeast High School
  • Romanda Franklin-Hamilton – Richardson Early Learning Community School
  • Kristian Foster – Lincoln College Preparatory Academy
  • Shaunda Fowler – Troost Elementary School
  • Patricia Hayes – Paseo Academy of Fine and Performing Arts
  • Luis Hinojosa – East High School
  • Karol Howard – Pitcher Elementary School
  • Jessie Kirksey – John T. Hartman Elementary School
  • Phillena Layne – Whittier Elementary School
  • Robert Lee – Success Academy at Anderson
  • Julie Lynch – Hale Cook Elementary School
  • Anthony Madry – Central High School
  • Christopher McNeil – George Melcher Elementary School
  • Harrison Neal – Benjamin Banneker Elementary School
  • Pamela Pearson – Early College Academy
  • Joell Ramsdell – Foreign Language Academy
  • Blake Rhyne – Border Star Montessori School
  • Brett Schriewer – Northeast Middle School
  • Daniel Sheppard – Success Academy at Knotts
  • Kathleen Snipes – Faxon Elementary School
  • Leah Starr – Trailwoods Elementary School
  • Claire Thornton-Poke – African-Centered College Preparatory Academy-Lower Campus
  • Douglas White – Garfield Elementary School
  • David Williams – James Elementary School