Federal Bank Honors 2017 Student Board of Directors

High school students learn about banking, finance and public service


Kansas City, May 15, 2017: The Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City honored the members of its 2016-2017 Student Board of Directors during a pinning ceremony Wednesday evening, May 10 at the bank’s headquarters.

Every fall, bank leaders select a group of about two dozen seniors from Kansas City Public Schools and Kansas City, Kansas Public Schools to serve on the Student Board of Directors. During one academic year, the students meet at least once a month for mentorship and hands-on lessons about business, finance and public service.

Paseo Academy senior Sylvia Joerke receives a commemorative pin from Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City President Esther George on May 10.

The pinning ceremony included remarks by program director Trudie Hall, bank Board of Directors Chair Rose Washington and bank President Esther George. The ceremony marked each student’s successful completion of the program. It was also an opportunity for the students to talk about what they had learned and their plans for the future.

The following KCPS high schoolers served on the 2016-2017 Student Board of Directors:

  • Davyon Franklin (African-Centered College Preparatory Academy)
  • Nasia King (African-Centered College Preparatory Academy)
  • Alesea Wyatt (Lincoln College Preparatory Academy)
  • RaeNia Hill (Northeast High School)
  • D’Angelo Hubbard (Northeast High School)
  • Jose Juarez (Northeast High School)
  • Enrique Nichols (Northeast High School)
  • Jasmine Allen (Paseo Academy of Fine and Performing Arts)
  • Sylvia Joerke (Paseo Academy of Fine and Performing Arts)
  • Rapulu Okolo (Paseo Academy of Fine and Performing Arts)
  • Benjamin Rauth (Paseo Academy of Fine and Performing Arts)
  • Tessa Maze (Southeast High School)

Learn more about the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City’s Student Board of Directors program by visiting the bank’s website. Visit the KCPS Flickr site to view more images from the ceremony.